ABOUT

Driving Simryn Atwal to create Bridge the Gap Mental Health Association was the lack of awareness about mental health programming in Surrey, B.C., a city that struggles with gang violence, changing demographics and cultural divides that can lead to anxiety and depression. As a mental health speaker in the Surrey and Maple Ridge school districts, Simryn has been offering a helping hand to her community for years. Before creating her own organization focused on mental health services, Simryn got involved with Kids Help Phone. While there, she put on events and guided talks to create awareness about mental health and eventually became the organization’s youngest regional chair. Her passion for helping marginalized groups in society led to her founding Bridge the Gap Mental Health Association in 2018. Her main goal for this organization was to make mental health services more accessible in Surrey, especially for those in the community who she saw were slipping through the cracks. Focusing on inner-city youth, Simryn worked to break down the stigma associated with reaching out for help by addressing the informational gap and connecting people to resources that might otherwise have remained undiscovered. She could see that while mental health services were available, awareness about them was lacking—essentially, kids didn’t know what these services were or how to access them. Bridge the Gap Mental Health Association aims to fix that by connecting people who are struggling with relevant programming.

In addition to her tireless work with Bridge the Gap Mental Health Association, Simryn is a UN youth delegate and has worked with the Minister of Defence to draft the first federal youth policy including mental health reform.

BRIDGE THE GAP MENTAL HEALTH ASSOCIATION

Bridge the Gap Mental Health Association’s mission is to make mental health services and information more accessible, especially for marginalized groups in society.

When COVID-19 hit, Bridge the Gap immediately recognized the importance of mental health advocacy during this time as the sudden isolation that came with the pandemic was increasing depression among youth. The organization has pivoted to provide a digital platform that is accessible virtually and has created online toolkits, ebooks and mental health videos to help the large increase of people needing help since the pandemic has started.

Since Bridge the Gap was founded, it has helped over 3,000 inner-city youth through their digital programs along with counselling, referral services and peer-to-peer facilitation.

Simryn Atwal

À PROPOS

Simryn Atwal a créé l’organisation Bridge the Gap Mental Health Association afin de promouvoir les programmes de santé mentale à Surrey, en Colombie-Britannique. Cette municipalité est particulièrement touchée par la violence des gangs, l’évolution démographique et les clivages culturels, qui mènent parfois à l’anxiété et à la dépression. À titre de conférencière en santé mentale pour les commissions scolaires de Surrey et Maple Ridge, Simryn aide sa communauté depuis plusieurs années. Avant de créer sa propre organisation, Simryn travaillait pour la ligne téléphonique « Jeunesse, J’écoute ». Plus précisément, elle organisait des évènements et des discussions pour sensibiliser ses interlocuteurs à la santé mentale. Par ailleurs, elle est devenue la plus jeune présidente régionale de l’organisation. Passionnée par son travail d’aide auprès des populations marginalisées, elle a fondé Bridge the Gap Mental Health Association en 2018. Cette organisation a pour but de faciliter l’accès aux services de santé mentale à Surrey, surtout pour les populations qui tombaient entre les mailles du filet. Simryn travaille notamment avec des jeunes de quartiers défavorisés pour éliminer la stigmatisation qui empêche certaines personnes à demander de l’aide. Elle facilite aussi l’accès à l’information et aux ressources qu’on ne sait pas toujours où trouver. Malgré les services de santé mentale offerts, Simryn s’est aperçue que les jeunes ne savaient pas comment y faire appel. Bridge the Gap Mental Health Association cherche donc à combler les lacunes en dirigeant les individus vers des programmes qui répondent à leurs besoins.

En plus de son travail immense pour l’organisation Bridge the Gap Mental Health Association, Simryn est une déléguée de la jeunesse de l’ONU. À ce titre, elle a travaillé avec le ministère de la Défense pour l’élaboration de la première politique fédérale sur la réforme des services de santé mentale pour les jeunes.

BRIDGE THE GAP MENTAL HEALTH ASSOCIATION

Bridge the Gap Mental Health Association a pour mission de faciliter l’accès à l’information et aux services de santé mentale, surtout pour les populations marginalisées.

Depuis la pandémie de COVID-19, Bridge the Gap reconnaît d’autant plus l’importance de promouvoir la santé mentale, puisque l’isolement augmente la dépression chez les jeunes. L’organisation a donc créé une plateforme d’aide numérique, des outils en ligne, des livres numériques et des vidéos sur la santé mentale pour les nombreuses personnes qui ont besoin d’aide pendant la crise sanitaire.

Depuis sa création, Bridge the Gap a aidé environ 3000 jeunes issus de quartiers défavorisés, en leur offrant notamment un soutien psychologique, ainsi que des services de référence et d’entraide des pairs.