ABOUT

Rhonelle Bruder lives by the words “Resilience is my superpower.” As a survivor of child sex trafficking, she has experienced first-hand the darkest parts of society and came out stronger on the other side. A thriving and compassionate young woman, Rhonelle has taken her experiences and channelled them into Project iRISE, a survivor-led organization that empowers at-risk youth and survivors of domestic violence and human trafficking.

Growing up, Rhonelle felt “othered” in her community and faced discrimination, anxiety and depression; she ended up dropping out of high school and running away at the age of 16, which put her on a path of sexual exploitation and recruitment into sex trafficking. Determined to rise up, she eventually managed to escape this life of abuse. Since then, Rhonelle has completed her GED and today holds an honours bachelor of science degree and a master of science degree in Health Informatics. She began volunteering in shelters, creating workshops for at-risk youth and sharing her story of survival and hope. These workshops led to the founding of Project iRISE and Rhonelle becoming an anti-trafficking expert, educating youth on human trafficking and gender-based violence prevention. She’s also created What Is Sex Trafficking?—an educational video that provides an overview of how sex trafficking works and how victims are targeted and then groomed. It is now used by law enforcement, child welfare services and the hospitality industry across Canada as an anti-trafficking educational tool.

Rhonelle’s relentless commitment, determination and dedication to survivors and young women affected by sex trafficking and violence have helped to shed light and love on a topic that’s often stigmatized and ignored.

PROJECT IRISE

Project iRISE is a Toronto-based survivor-led organization that offers innovative skills and leadership development programs for survivors of human trafficking and gender-based violence as well as those at risk. Providing anti-trafficking programs such as educational training, coaching, self-esteem building and peer mentorship, among others, survivors are welcomed into Project iRISE and given the proper tools to begin to heal. One specific program created through Project iRISE is a branding-tattoo removal service for survivors who are forced to live with the painful physical reminder of their trafficking.

The community-based initiative is working toward ending human trafficking by raising awareness, empowering survivors, addressing stigma and opening up the pathways of communication around a subject that’s often stigmatized and silenced in society.

Rhonelle Bruder

À PROPOS

Rhonelle Bruder incarne l’expression « la résilience est mon superpouvoir ». En tant que survivante d’exploitation sexuelle des enfants, elle a connu les pires aspects de la société, mais elle en est ressortie encore plus forte. Rhonelle est une jeune femme très épanouie avec beaucoup de compassion, qui a canalisé son expérience pour créer Project iRISE. Cette organisation dirigée par des survivant(e)s soutient les jeunes à risque, ainsi que les survivant(e)s de violence conjugale et de la traite des personnes.

Pendant sa jeunesse, Rhonelle était souvent mise à l’écart à cause de sa différence et elle faisait l’objet de discrimination. À cause de son anxiété et de sa dépression, elle a décroché de l’école et fugué quand elle avait 16 ans, ce qui l’a menée vers l’exploitation sexuelle. Grâce à son incroyable détermination, elle a réussi à sortir du cycle de l’abus. Depuis, Rhonelle a obtenu son diplôme d’études secondaires, en plus d’un baccalauréat en sciences avec mention et une maîtrise en informatique médicale. Elle a commencé à travailler comme bénévole dans les refuges, où elle offrait des ateliers aux jeunes à risque, dans le cadre desquels elle racontait son histoire de survie et d’espoir. Grâce à cette expérience, elle a fondé Project iRISE. Rhonelle est ainsi devenue une experte dans la lutte contre la traite des personnes, la sensibilisation des jeunes et la prévention de violence fondée sur le genre. Elle a aussi réalisé une vidéo éducative (What Is Sex Trafficking?) qui montre comment fonctionnent l’exploitation sexuelle et le recrutement de jeunes. Aujourd’hui, les forces de l’ordre, les services d’aide à l’enfance et l’industrie hôtelière utilisent cette vidéo comme outil de sensibilisation dans la lutte contre l’exploitation sexuelle au Canada.

Grâce à son engagement et à sa détermination, Rhonelle aide les survivant(e)s et les jeunes femmes qui sont touchées par le trafic sexuel et la violence. Elle met ainsi en lumière un sujet qui est malheureusement ignoré et stigmatisé.

PROJECT IRISE

Project iRISE est une organisation de Toronto dirigée par des survivant(e)s qui offre des programmes innovateurs pour le développement du leadership et des compétences aux personnes qui ont vécu ou qui sont à risque d’exploitation sexuelle. Par l’entremise de formations, d’encadrement, d’ateliers pour développer l’estime de soi et de mentorat entre les pairs, les survivant(e)s acquièrent les outils nécessaires pour commencer à guérir. Project iRISE offre notamment à ces personnes la possibilité d’enlever leurs tatouages qui les associaient au réseau de trafiquants, ce qui leur permet de tourner la page.

Cette initiative communautaire a pour but de mettre fin à la traite des personnes par la sensibilisation, la valorisation des survivant(e)s, la lutte contre la stigmatisation et la communication sur un sujet que la société tente trop souvent de taire.