Joëlle Kabisoso

ABOUT

 

As a young Black rape survivor, Joëlle Kabisoso has turned her experience with healing trauma into her greatest strength. In 2013, at the age of 17, she was sexually assaulted by a group of five white boys. Adding to her physical and psychological trauma, she discovered that the act of violence had been tweeted about with images of her; she was referred to as a “monkey” in the tweet, which anchored a racially charged element of hate crime to her experience. Dismissed by the authorities — her case was barely investigated. 


Fuelled by her own experience with the intersection of sexual violence and racial disparity, Joëlle became the founder of Sisters in Sync. With a belief in the mishandling of services for Black women within existing systems, she has become an advocate for equitable justice and services for Black youth in Canada. Compelled to connect and support young women with shared experiences, Joëlle is a fearless community builder and leader. She has recently been recognized as one of the Top 100 Black Women to Watch in Canada and received the YWCA Hamilton 2021 Women of Distinction Young Trailblazer Award.


SISTERS IN SYNC

 

Founded in 2018 and based in Hamilton, Ont., Sisters in Sync creates a safe space for BIPOC girls and women to connect, share and support one another through lived experiences while amplifying survivor stories. Based on the values of empowerment, sisterhood, education and resilience, a series of holistic initiatives aims to engage historically marginalized communities in healthy and productive ways to unpack and deal with trauma through workshops and events. Across all efforts, the mandate of “We got you, sis” remains—it reinforces the Sisters in Sync commitment to solidarity while identifying barriers to women’s equality and advocating for change.

Joëlle Kabisoso

À PROPOS

 

Jeune femme noire ayant survécu à un viol, Joëlle Kabisoso a transformé cette expérience traumatisante en grande force au cours de son processus de guérison. En 2013, alors qu’elle était âgée de 17 ans, elle a été agressée par un groupe de cinq Blancs. En plus du traumatisme physique et psychologique, elle a découvert que son viol avait fait l’objet d’un tweet et que des images d’elle avaient été publiées sur Internet ; elle était traitée de « singe » dans ce tweet, une injure raciste qui ajoutait une dimension de crime haineux à ce qu’elle avait subi. Ignoré par les autorités, son cas n’a fait l’objet de pratiquement aucune enquête. 


Motivée par sa propre expérience de la violence sexuelle mêlée de racisme, Joëlle a fondé Sisters in Sync. Convaincue que le système en place n’offre pas de services adéquats aux femmes noires, elle est devenue une ardente défenseure d’une justice et de services équitables pour la jeunesse noire au Canada. Décidée à créer un réseau de soutien pour les jeunes femmes ayant vécu des expériences similaires, Joëlle est aujourd’hui une leader au sein de sa communauté. Elle a récemment été reconnue comme l’une des 100 personnalités noires les plus influentes au Canada et a reçu en 2021 le prix Women of Distinction du YWCA de Hamilton dans la catégorie Young Trailblazer.


SISTERS IN SYNC

 

Fondé en 2018 et basé à Hamilton, en Ontario, l’organisme Sisters in Sync propose un espace sécuritaire au sein duquel les femmes noires, autochtones et de couleur peuvent se réunir, s’aider et échanger, tout en insistant sur les histoires de survivantes. Mettant de l’avant les valeurs d’autonomisation, d’entraide, d’éducation et de résilience, une série d’initiatives holistiques visent à susciter de manière saine et productive la participation de communautés historiquement marginalisées afin qu’elles arrivent à faire face à leurs traumatismes dans le cadre d’ateliers et d’événements. À travers tous ces efforts, le mot d’ordre « Nous sommes avec toi » sert de dénominateur commun, renforçant l’engagement de Sisters in Sync envers la solidarité, alors que l’organisme cible les obstacles à l’égalité des genres et fait la promotion du changement.