Gwen Madiba

ABOUT

 

Inspired by the words of her late father, Gwen Madiba is well on her way to becoming a woman who builds her own legacy. But rather than focus on what she can achieve for herself, Gwen is making her mark with her commitment to lifting others up through the lens of diversity and inclusion. Born in Gabon, Africa, and raised in Ottawa, the entrepreneur and award-winning international speaker is a tireless advocate for women’s and children’s rights. As the president of Equal Chance, Gwen firmly believes it’s her mission to be in service to others and is continually working on multiple programs and projects that provide an equal opportunity for vulnerable people to thrive. Her activism is informed by her own experiences with homelessness. 


Thanks to her dedication to making a positive impact on her city, Gwen was awarded the Order of Ottawa in 2019 and continues to be a local leader who’s ready and willing to respond to a call for help. Recently she helped raise over $25,000 in less than 24 hours for a single mother of three who needed to leave a mould-infested apartment. 


A powerful visionary who strives to bring people together, Gwen was a co-organizer of the No Peace Until Justice peaceful march against racism in 2020 that inspired a turnout of 10,000 people. And, most recently, she has been working with a team to develop an app that will help low-income people and families and homeless Black families in temporary housing have access to a range of vital services for mental health, employment, maternal care and more. 


EQUAL CHANCE

 

Based in Ottawa, Equal Chance was founded on the belief that all folks in society should have an equal chance and equal access to opportunities, services and resources. With the goal of promoting the social, economic, cultural and political well-being of vulnerable members of the Black community across Canada, the organization develops multiple programs, projects, activities and policies. Rooted in bolstering diversity and inclusion, Equal Chance works with a variety of allies, departments and organizations to achieve community outreach and dialogue.

Gwen Madiba

À PROPOS 

 

S’inspirant des mots de son défunt père, Gwen Madiba est en voie de devenir une femme qui bâtit son propre héritage. Mais plutôt que de s’attarder à ce qu’elle peut accomplir pour elle, Gwen fait sa marque grâce à son engagement à élever les autres dans une perspective de diversité et d’inclusion. Née au Gabon, en Afrique, et élevée à Ottawa, cette entrepreneure et conférencière internationale primée est une défenseure infatigable des droits des femmes et des enfants. En tant que présidente de l’organisme Equal Chance, elle croit fermement que sa mission est de venir en aide aux autres et elle travaille sans cesse à divers programmes et projets qui offrent l'égalité des chances aux personnes vulnérables. Son militantisme est éclairé par sa propre expérience avec les sans-abri.


Grâce à sa détermination à jouer un rôle positif pour sa ville, Gwen a reçu l’Ordre d’Ottawa en 2019 et continue à être une leader locale prête à répondre à tout appel à l’aide. Elle a récemment aidé à recueillir 25 000 $ en moins de 24 heures pour une mère monoparentale de trois enfants qui avait besoin de quitter un logement ayant un grave problème de moisissures.


Puissante visionnaire qui œuvre au rapprochement des communautés, Gwen a aidé à organiser en 2020 la marche pacifique contre le racisme No Peace Until Justice (Pas de justice, pas de paix), qui a réuni 10 000 personnes. Plus récemment, elle a travaillé avec une équipe à l’élaboration d’une application qui aidera les ménages à faibles revenus ainsi que les familles noires sans-abri résidant dans des logements temporaires à avoir accès à divers services essentiels de santé mentale, d’emploi, de soins maternels, etc.


EQUAL CHANCE

 

Basé à Ottawa, Equal Chance est fondé sur la conviction que tous les membres de la société doivent pouvoir disposer de chances égales et d’un accès égal aux occasions, aux services et aux ressources disponibles. Son objectif est de promouvoir le bien-être social, économique, culturel et politique des membres vulnérables de la communauté noire partout au Canada par l’élaboration de programmes, de projets, d’activités et de politiques. Déterminé à favoriser la diversité et l’inclusion, Equal Chance travaille avec différents alliés, services et organisations pour sensibiliser les communautés et favoriser le dialogue.