ABOUT

As a Black woman, Elise Konadu Ahenkorah witnessed first-hand the double bias that female entrepreneurs of colour face when entering the workforce and within the business community. Frequently the only Black woman in the boardroom or keynote speaker at events, she was often asked by other women of colour (WOC) how she gained her success. This pushed her to create #shemeets, a platform that gives WOC the resources, mentorship and training to build their own path to success. Building on her past experiences in roles such as Inclusion Strategist for inclusion FACTOR and a prominent local community builder, Elise founded #shemeets four years ago. Her goal was to build a supportive network for the growing community of WOC entrepreneurs across the country while offering valuable experiences, mentorship and guidance.

Utilizing tools like skills training, workshops and networking, #shemeets is bridging Canada’s wealth gap and creating a community where WOC are able to build on their ideas into reality. Thanks to Elise’s dedication and steadfast leadership, the platform has grown from 25 to 7,500 members across Canada and continues to expand.

Breaking through boundaries set by society is nothing new to Elise. As Vice President for Calgary Pride, she was the first Black Pride executive in Alberta’s history. Her work has been recognized by the Canadian Centre for Diversity and Inclusion as the recipient of the 2019 Community Contributor Award and the University of Calgary’s Diversity Excellence Awards for her work as the founder of Inclusion FACTOR, another diversity-focused, venture.

#SHEMEETS

#shemeets was created to support WOC in different industries and aspects of business, from social enterprises to entrepreneurial initiatives. The mission behind the initiative is to be a support system for the next generation of Indigenous women and WOC leaders by providing networks, training and mentorship to help develop their ideas and set them up for success. The program offers speed mentoring sessions, training, grants, and leadership discussions that are redefining the impact that WOC are having on Canada’s economic and innovation sectors.

Since its inception, #shemeets has helped countless WOC through annual programming and has now expanded throughout the country to become a valuable community of support and guidance. In July 2020, #shemeets hosted Canada’s first-ever virtual event for WOC entrepreneurs; it has expanded across Canada thanks to a partnership with Women Entrepreneurship Knowledge Hub (WEKH) and the Women’s Economic Council.

Elise Konadu Ahenkorah

À PROPOS

En tant que femme noire, Elise Konadu Ahenkorah connaît très bien les préjugés auxquels les femmes de couleur sont confrontées dans le monde des affaires. Par exemple, elle se trouve souvent comme étant la seule femme noire dans les salles de réunion ou la seule conférencière lors d’évènements. Néanmoins, les femmes de couleur lui demandent régulièrement le secret de sa réussite. Pour y répondre, elle a créé la plateforme #shemeets, qui offre à ces personnes les ressources, le mentorat et la formation nécessaire pour trouver leur propre chemin vers la réussite. En s’inspirant de son travail comme responsable de la stratégie d’Inclusion FACTOR et membre très active de sa communauté, Elise a fondé #shemeets il y a quatre ans. Elle voulait ainsi bâtir un réseau pour la communauté grandissante des femmes de couleur en entreprenariat au Canada. Ainsi, elle leur offre des expériences enrichissantes, du mentorat et un encadrement.

À partir de formations professionnelles, d’atelier et de réseautage, #shemeets contribue à la lutte contre les inégalités sociales et à la création d’une communauté où les femmes de couleur peuvent concrétiser leurs projets. Grâce à l’engagement et au leadership d’Elise, la plateforme est passée de 25 à 7500 membres au Canada.

Elise cherche depuis longtemps à éliminer les obstacles que la société impose. Par exemple, elle a été la vice-présidente de la Fierté de Calgary. Elle est ainsi devenue la première femme noire à diriger cette organisation en Alberta. Le Centre canadien pour la diversité et l’inclusion l’a récompensée en lui remettant un prix de reconnaissance en 2019. Elle a aussi obtenu le Prix d’excellence en matière de diversité (Université de Calgary) pour son travail à titre de fondatrice d’Inclusion FACTOR.

#SHEMEETS

#shemeets a été créé pour soutenir les femmes de couleur dans diverses industries et secteurs d’affaires, notamment les entreprises sociales. Cette initiative a pour but d’accompagner la prochaine génération de femmes autochtones et de couleur en leur offrant les réseaux nécessaires pour qu’elles puissent concrétiser leurs idées et réussir professionnellement. Le programme propose des séances de mentorat éclair, des subventions, des formations et des échanges sur le leadership, qui redéfinissent l’impact des femmes de couleur canadiennes sur l’économie et l’innovation.

Depuis sa création, #shemeets a aidé plusieurs femmes de couleur grâce à des programmes annuels, qui sont désormais offerts dans plusieurs régions du pays et constituent une importante communauté de soutien. En juillet 2020, #shemeets a organisé le premier évènement pour les femmes noires dans le secteur des affaires. Le réseau s’est également élargi à travers le Canada grâce au partenariat avec le Portail de connaissances pour les femmes en entreprenariat (PCFE) et le Conseil économique des femmes.